Google Maps forces users to share travel data to be able to use the live navigation feature

Tram Ho

Some users of Google Maps on Android and iOS have recently been seeing a new prompt asking for permission for the app to source their “navigation data.” Notably, turn-by-turn will not work unless you agree.

Google Maps buộc người dùng phải chia sẻ dữ liệu di chuyển để có thể dùng tính năng dẫn đường trực tiếp - Ảnh 1.

“As you navigate, Google collects details, such as your GPS location and the route you took. This data can be used to make information, including real-time traffic conditions, visible to others and help them find the fastest route,” the message box reads.

Google Maps always uses this location data – along with traffic and sensors and data from your device – to provide real-time information. Google in September last year said that more than 1 billion kilometers are navigated with the app every day around the world. That collection of “navigation data” helps generate alternative route options, showing traffic conditions and estimated times, as well as detailed navigation.

Google Maps buộc người dùng phải chia sẻ dữ liệu di chuyển để có thể dùng tính năng dẫn đường trực tiếp - Ảnh 2.

If you do not agree, i.e. select “Cancel”, you will not receive detailed turn-by-turn navigation directly with voice feedback, for example, “turn left on X Street”. Instead, the user will only be provided with step-by-step instructions (as shown in the image to the right) in the form of a list.

Overall, it’s a simple and reasonable request to use a modern map application, which is free to contribute data to map development. Google notes that map navigation data is not “associated with your Google Account or device”. This reminder is mainly about making things more transparent.

Reference: 9to5google

Share the news now

Source : Genk